County Clerk

Pete Duncan Macoupin County Clerk
Genealogy Records

The Macoupin County Clerk's office provides non-certified copies of vital records for the purpose of genealogical research.

Under Illinois law, genealogical records are defined as:

  • - Birth certificates older than 75 years.

  • - Marriage certificates older than 50 years.

  • - Death certificates older than 20 years.

All genealogical records issued by the Clerk's office are considered non-certified documents.

For genealogical purposes, when did Macoupin County begin recording records?

For marriage records, 1829. For birth and death records, 1877. However, the state did not require births and deaths to be filed until 1916 so many births and deaths from before 1916 were never recorded.

The cost of a genealogical copy is $5 per record. If you are doing a request by mail, please either confirm we have your record before sending payment or send separate checks for each record requested. If you are searching multiple records and send one check, if we do not have one of your records on file, we will have to hold your records as we send back your check and wait for a correct check to be sent.

Other sources you can contact directly may be helpful in your search and locating records:

Macoupin Genealogical Society

Illinois Secretary of State's State Archives website

RootsWeb.com

Ancestry.com

Requesting a record

To obtain a genealogical record, you must:

·         Fill out and sign a request form:

Birth Certificate Request Form

Marriage Certificate Request Form

Civil Union Certificate Request Form

Death Certificate Request Form

·         Pay the required fee (see above).

·         Mail or deliver the form to the Macoupin County Clerk's office:

Mail your request to:

Macoupin County Clerk
Pete Duncan
Attn: Genealogy
P.O. Box 107
Carlinville, IL 62626

Include the following items:

  • - a completed request form.

  • - a check or money order payable to the Macoupin County Clerk